Anna Dressed in Blood (review)

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I love Cas with his determination to get to the bottom of things and his insecurity about his own worth without his athame and the secret warmth he feels at having made friends when he never allowed himself to make any before and most of all for his protectiveness towards Anna. I love his charm brewing, patient mother, I love trips-over-his-own-foot Thomas and I love curious and meddling Carmel. I even liked the mean boys from school because they were so well placed. The parents weren’t MIA in this book even though it’s about a seventeen year old boy who goes all around the world killing ghosts.
There were places towards the end of the book where I felt like I was the only one aware that Anna was a ghost and not another human being, whereas the rest of the ‘circle’ was oddly blasé about it. That’s possibly something that was peculiar to their situation. They had bigger, badder things to worry about than one bloody ghost.
I had read in some reviews that the book is creepy. It didn’t read creepy to me. There was plenty of gore, but if you read a lot of urban fantasy novels or crime fiction I suppose you get inured to it.
The book wasn’t scary. It was…fast-paced, interesting, gripping, (sweet) and what seemed to be the perfect series starter.
I can’t wait for book two!!

ratings — 8/10

Related articles
Leave a Reply

