One for the Money (Review)

One For The Money (Stephanie Plum, #1)One For The Money by Janet Evanovich

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.75 stars (Not quite four, but close).

What I LOVED about the book — Exchanges like the one below. (Stephanie Plum giving her statement to the police after a car blows up in her parking lot.)

I explain about Beyer’s wife leaving him, and about how he tried to steal the car, and how he made the mistake of saying “fuck God,” and then the car blew up.

“You think God got pissed off and fried Beyer?”

“That would be one theory.”

The book made me laugh at several points and I can completely see why this series took so well with people. I am somewhat wary of any series that goes on for nineteen books with no end in sight, but I can certainly understand the appeal of Stephanie Plum while she’s still a fresh character in the reader’s mind.

I liked the secondary characters, Stephanie’s limitations and her awareness of her own inexperience, and I liked that the story centred around Stephanie’s rookie investigations and not any romance between the bounty hunter and the fugitive.

The only complaints I have — On two distinct occasions, Stephanie walks in somewhere and sees something that the police/P.I.s usually don’t see without putting in hours and hours of surveillance. She has to be the luckiest rookie ever.

MAJOR SPOILER BELOW.

[She goes to Joe Morelli’s apartment and within minutes sees his cousin go in and come out with some of Joe’s stuff, follows him and finds Joe. Though she fails to apprehend him. 
Then towards the end, she works on a hunch and enters a meat shop to talk to it’s owner and finds another guy she’s been looking for for most of the book. Really. Just like that. He decided to drop in JUST that very moment.
Sure. That happens.]

END SPOILER.[She goes to Joe Morelli’s apartment and within minutes sees his cousin go in and come out with some of Joe’s stuff, follows him and finds Joe. Though she fails to apprehend him.
Then towards the end, she works on a hunch and enters a meat shop to talk to it’s owner and finds another guy she’s been looking for for most of the book. Really. Just like that. He decided to drop in JUST that very moment.
Sure. That happens. (hide spoiler)]

I also got the feeling that the author expected me to laugh at some other one-liners and ridiculous situations (and maybe to other people it will be funny), but to me it read like extra fluff.
But other than that, I liked this book very, very much.

I read a lot of fantasy fiction and mysteries where the heroes are badass women who carry guns or swords and investigate crimes and deal with criminals as well as various evil creatures. Evanovich’s writing seemed so familiar to me after reading those women’s first person narrative for so long. It’s part chick flick and part police procedural. I just realized that she was probably a trend starter, that Evanovich must have been one of the first authors to write in this way.

Oh and I loved Joe Morelli.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Crime/Mystery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

