Sherlock – the unaired pilot

Gah, I love Sherlock. I complain and crib about the plot-holes and over-dramatic cinematography that pays less attention to the actual mysteries, but I still love Sherlock.

So when I found this un-aired pilot on youtube, I was flipping in glee. The acting is understated, I like John Watson’s character participation better and I like the equality apparent in their relationship here far more. I even liked the way Sherlock confronted the killer here better. It made sense in a way the actual pilot didn’t.

So I’ve collected them here, for anyone who wants to revisit the story but mostly for people like me who love Sherlock but wish the production people would pay a little more attention to the plots.

2 comments

  1. Oh, I saw this one accidentally. I was recommending Sherlock to someone and bought this up and then realized later that something was wrong and how substantially different it was from the rest of the episodes. I guess the production value made all the difference.

    1. True. Money definitely jazzed the series up. But I like the original dialogues and acting better. Sherlock is more dynamic in the aired pilot, but it’s as if his every word and every move is calculated to evoke a response from the audience. This constant shock thing is tiring.

Leave a Reply

