Catching Jordon (a review)

Catching JordanCatching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The best thing about this book? It surprises. How often do teenage romances surprise you? The protagonist is a smart, level headed girl who (predictably) has issues to sort through, but never spirals down into melodramatic fits.

They said in the blurb that there is a love triangle in the story. It took me half the book to find it. It’s perfectly placed. I’m glad it took me that long, and while I kept wandering – what love triangle? She’s already with the guy she wants – Kenneally snuck up the ‘other guy’ into my heart. I liked him from the get-go, but assumed he was a really strong secondary character.

After all the stuff I wrote above it’ll take you five minutes to realize who the other guy is once you start the book. But I’m sure you’ll appreciate her writing never the less.

Jordon is a little prejudiced against the cheerleaders who fraternize with the more social of her team, since some of them make a point of trashing her out of hearing of the boys, but she gets over it, and I like how the author portrays the girl’s biases and faults. It endears Jordon to me.

Great read, I’ll probably come back to it again in a few months. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

