My Guitar needs more use

I’m learning to play the guitar. The curious thing about this is that I’ve been learning to play one for the last two years. I still haven’t learnt much.

I’m not being philosophical. I’m not referring to the vastness of knowledge and how a mortal can spend her entire life learning and yet never be complete master of anything. I’m referring to my inability to stick to a steady schedule and actually retain what I infrequently force into that dungeon in my head.

But recently this has changed. I’ve acquired a teacher. He’s a decent guitarist, unimaginably patient, horrible at spinning similes (“keep the beats with your toes like butterflies do with their wings. The flutter flutter? Yes, make your toes flutter.”)

I find that I want to practice everyday (and sometimes several times a day) now because every week when I walk into his class I want last week’s assignment to flow so easily from my fingers that he can’t help but be impressed. I’ve never been a teacher’s pet before (well once, in class 12 – I was really good in math, but I fell into disfavour when I wouldn’t work hard enough to push my 84s and 85s into 90s – it drove her crazy), but this is fun.

I love watching my fingers flying across the fret-board. It’s those up and down strokes that bugger me. But I’ll tame them by next week, see if I don’t.

This entry was posted in The Watering Hole and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Guitar needs more use

  1. I miss my piano. Someday we will be able to get the keyboard out so I can share it with my children. For now, I play music as much as I can. 🙂

    Best of luck on mastering the guitar. 🙂

  2. Melanie says:

    I tried learning guitar on my own for a couple years but could never quite get the hang of it. Recently, the mandolin caught my eye, and I began taking lessons. For me, the consistency of lessons keeps me practicing. Piano will always be my love, but it’s nice to try something new.

    Good luck!

    • trojanwalls says:

      Thank you. I went on a two-week trip recently, which somehow resulted in me missing three guitar classes. I’ve nearly lost the calluses on my fingers which makes my frantic practice sessions now (trying to catch up) more painful. But I’m still floating among the happy clouds of contentment – knowing that I’m getting better at something I love.
      Good luck to you too. The piano intimidates me a little, but I do think the mandolin is a beautiful instrument.

Leave a Reply

